Allied Members are not Architects, but are professionals in related fields, who collaborate with and support Architects in the creation of the built environment.

How to Become a Member of AIA Sierra Valley

Membership in the AIA is an investment in your future that extends your network to fellow professionals at the national, state, and local levels. Once you determine your eligibility in the appropriate membership category below, you can become an AIA member in one of three ways:

All newly joining members are eligible to participate in the 2015 Dues Installment Program. Enroll no later than April 30, and pay your membership dues in up to six monthly installments. 2015 membership dues must be paid in full by June 30, 2015. Learn more about the 2015 Dues Installment Program with these FAQs.

AIA Sierra Valley Allied Membership

Our Allied members are individuals working in fields other than architecture, such as design, engineering, construction, landscaping, law, marketing, business solutions, etc.

  • Annual Membership dues: $165.00
  • Allied membership provides local benefits only.
  • Allied members share in all AIA Sierra Valley resources, programs, services, and activities, establishing relationships with architects that go beyond sales and specifications.

AIA Membership Designations
Curious what all those letters mean after a design professional’s name? We’re here to help decipher that alphabet soup for you. AIA members fall into different designations based on the status of their license as well as other criteria. With the exception of the Allied category, you’ll see our members using these abbreviations after their name to proudly indicate their AIA affiliation to the public and their clients.

  • AIA: U.S licensed architects
  • FAIA: Members elected to the AIA College of Fellows
  • Assoc. AIA: Unlicensed to practice architecture but meeting other professional criteria
  • Hon. AIA or Hon. FAIA: Honorary members
  • Intl. Assoc. AIA: Those with an architecture license or equivalent from a licensing authority outside the United States
  • Allied: Other building- or design-related professionals
  • Emeritus: Architect or associate members in good standing for at least 15 successive years who meet certain age and/or retirement criteria, who may continue using the designation they had prior to approval of their application for emeritus status

Downloadable membership applications: